Producers Guild Award Nominations Announced Today

The nominees for the Producers Guild Awards have been announced.

The PGA nominations and winners are basically a guide map of the movies that will end up being nominated for and Oscar at the Academy Awards. Last year 9 out of 10 films nominated for the PGA ended up being nominated for Best Picture at the Academy Awards. 

I am very happy to see The Town on there, it is one of my favorite films of 2010. I know a lot of people loved Toy Story 3, but I don’t think it’s a best picture film. I think that Winters Bone should be on the list as well, it was a deserving film. 
Check out the full list of nominees below and tell us what you think!
The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures:
  • 127 HOURS, Producers: Danny Boyle, Christian Colson
  • BLACK SWAN, Producers: Scott Franklin, Mike Medavoy, Brian Oliver
  • INCEPTION, Producers: Christopher Nolan, Emma Thomas
  • THE FIGHTER, Producers: David Hoberman, Todd Lieberman, Mark Wahlberg
  • THE KIDS ARE ALL RIGHT, Producers: Gary Gilbert, Jeffrey Levy-Hinte, Celine Rattray
  • THE KING’S SPEECH, Producers: Iain Canning, Emile Sherman, Gareth Unwin
  • THE SOCIAL NETWORK, Producers: Dana Brunetti, Ceán Chaffin, Michael De Luca, Scott Rudin
  • THE TOWN, Producers: Basil Iwanyk, Graham King
  • TOY STORY 3, Producer: Darla K. Anderson
  • TRUE GRIT, Producers: Ethan Coen, Joel Coen, Scott Rudin
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:
  • DESPICABLE ME, Producers: John Cohen, Janet Healy, Christopher Meledandri
  • HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON, Producer: Bonnie Arnold
  • TOY STORY 3, Producer: Darla K. Anderson
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures: 
(Previously announced December 2010.)
  • CLIENT 9: THE RISE AND FALL OF ELIOT SPITZER, Producer(s): Awaiting final credit determination
  • EARTH MADE OF GLASS, Producers: Reid Carolin, Deborah Scranton
  • INSIDE JOB, Producers: Charles Ferguson, Audrey Marrs
  • SMASH HIS CAMERA, Producers: Linda Saffire, Adam Schlesinger
  • THE TILLMAN STORY, Producer: John Battsek
  • ‘WAITING FOR ‘SUPERMAN’, Producer: Lesley Chilcott
Previously announced awards:
  • Global 3D technology provider RealD will receive the Producers Guild’s 2011 Vanguard Award.
  • Producer Scott Rudin will receive the 2011 David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Motion Pictures.
  • Producer Laura Ziskin will receive the Producers Guild’s 2011 Visionary Award.
  • Oscar award-winning producer, director, writer James Cameron will be honored with the 2011 Milestone Award.
Previous post

Sony Offering New Features For Films On iTunes

Next post

Francis Lawrence Set To Direct UNBROKEN Based On Bestselling WWII Novel

The Author

Jim Napier

Jim Napier

Lover of movies and The Big Lebowski.