BLACK SWAN sweeps at the Independent Spirit Awards

Darren Aronofsky‘s BLACK SWAN swept the Film Independent Spirit Awards held this afternoon. The awards can be seen tonight on IFC at 10 pm ET. Keep reading for all of the details!BLACK SWAN took home four awards, including Best Feature, Best Director for Aronofsky and Best Female Lead for Natalie Portman. 

I am happy to report that WINTER’S BONE received awards for John Hawkes and Dale Dickey. James Franco won Best Male Lead for 127 HOURS. EXIT THROUGH THE GIFT SHOP won Best Documentary and I think we’ll see a repeat performance of that tomorrow night. Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg won Best Screenplay for THE KIDS ARE ALL RIGHT. In addition, Lena Dunham won the Best First Screenplay prize for TINY FURNITURE.

Here are the full list of winners:

Best Feature – BLACK SWAN

Best Director – Darren Aronofsky, BLACK SWAN

Best Female Lead – Natalie Portman, BLACK SWAN

Best Male Lead – James Franco, 127 HOURS

Best Supporting Female – Dale Dickey, WINTER’S BONE

Best Supporting Male – John Hawkes, WINTER’S BONE

Best Screenplay – Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg, THE KIDS ARE ALL RIGHT

Best First Feature – GET LOW

John Cassavetes Award – Daddy Longlegs

Best First Screenplay – Lena Dunham, TINY FURNITURE


Best Foreign Film – THE KING’S SPEECH

Best Cinematography – Matthew Libatique, BLACK SWAN

Truer Than Fiction Award – MARWENCOL

Someone to Watch Award – Mike Ott, director of LITTLEROCK

Producers Award – Anish Savjani, producer of MEEK’S CUTOFF

Robert Altman Award – PLEASE GIVE — Nicole Holofcener (writer-director), Jeanne McCarthy (casting director) and actors Ann Gilbert, Rebecca Hall, Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Lois Smith and Sarah Steele

Source: FilmmakerMag
Previous post

New TV spot for Duncan Jones' SOURCE CODE

Next post

Trailer for MEEK'S CUTOFF arrives

The Author

Jim Napier

Jim Napier

Lover of movies and The Big Lebowski.