THE KINGS SPEECH Wins Six Awards At The British Independent Film Awards

The Kings Speech won Best Indie Film of 2010 at the 13th annual British Independent Film Awards tonight!

The film from director Tom Hooper starring Colin Firth, Geoffrey Rush and Helen Bonham Carter also won five other major awards. Firth won best actor; Geoffrey Rush  won supporting actor and Helena Bonham Carter took supporting actress plus the honorary Richard Harris Award.  David Seidler won for best screenplay.
Other winners included:
  • Gareth Edwards won best director, best achievement in production and best technical achievement award for his film Monsters.   
  • Best actress went to Carey Mulligan for her role in Never Let Me Go.  
  • The most promising newcomer award went to Joanne Froggatt.
  • Enemies of the People won the best British documentary and Baby earned best British short film honors. 
  • Clio Barnard won the Douglas Hickox Award for The Arbor.
  • Son of Babylon won the Raindance Award
  • A Prophet received best foreign film.
  • Liam Neeson took home the Variety Award.
Source: LA Times
Previous post

Kathryn Bigelow To Film Indie Black Ops Thriller Before TRIPLE FRONTIER

Next post

10 Minute Video Of The Upcoming HBO Series GAME OF THRONES

The Author

Jim Napier

Jim Napier

Lover of movies and The Big Lebowski.