Kontakte announces new album ‘We Move Through Negative Spaces" via Drifting Falling Recordings

Kontakte have announced their second studio album, “We Move Through Negative Spaces” on Drifting Falling Records! We will have a review up for you soon. For now keep reading to check out the official press release and tracklist below.


We Move Through Negative Spaces is the second studio album from London based Kontakte. Continuing to highlight their penchant for producing music of extreme highs and lows, this second album raises the bar in terms of songwriting, instrumentation and production. 

Following live dates to promote their debut, Soundtracks To Lost Road Movies, the autumn of 2009 saw the band withdraw from live performances to focus on writing new material, which would become their second album. The winter of that year found them in hibernation, watching the snowfall outside and writing and recording between their home studios and rehearsal room. Zeroing in on the tiniest of detail, the long process involved meticulously recording and listening to hours of guitar layers, textures, beats, piano and strings. Winter became spring and in the summer of 2010 they emerged with 8 finished tracks. Each track was written with the others in mind with thought given to how each would sit next to the other and be heard, not separately, but as a collection of songs – a continuous hour of music. 

Inspired by a myriad of artists ranging from This Will Destroy You to The Album Leaf to Tim Hecker and Eluvium, Kontakte have produced an album that despite its initial intensity reveals more of itself within its numerous layers of melody and texture – a hypnotic record that evokes the sense of escapism in which it was conceived. 

Having released 3 singles, a debut album (featuring remixes by Tim Holmes of Death In Vegas and Chris Olley of Six. By Seven, et al) Kontakte have toured the UK, headlined the Feedback Fever Festival in Hamburg and established themselves by continuously playing intense live shows, receiving high praise both online and in the press. 

The Kontakte live experience is a blistering wall of guitar noise with shimmering electronics and ethereal melodies – a band to savour. Past shows have seen them share bills with: Fuck Buttons, M83, Damo Suzuki, A Place To Bury Strangers, Six By Seven, The Lionheart Brothers, The Early Years, Vessels, Epic 45, Sennen, Air Formation and WorriedAboutSatan.

Artist Links:


Track Listings:
1. Astralagus 
2. Hope… 
3. With Glowing Hearts 
4. Early Evening Bleeds Into Night 5. A Snowflake in Her Hand 
6. The Owls Won’t See Us In Here 
7. Every Passing Hour 
8. The Ocean Between You And Me

Previous post

The Carrier is on tour now - shows with Comeback Kid, Title Fight, and more!

Next post

Napier's NewsCast Ep. 3 - BATTLE RED RIDING HOOD and more

The Author

Jim Napier

Jim Napier

Lover of movies and The Big Lebowski.